GPNM / INI publication 'Our Nutrient World'

The challenge to produce more food and energy with less pollution

Global Overview on Nutrient Management, prepared by the Global Partnership on Nutrient Management in collaboration with the International Nitrogen Initiative

 

This report draws attention to the multiple benefits and threats of human nutrient use. It highlights how nitrogen and phosphorus fertilizers are estimated to feed half the human population alive today, and how they will remain critical in the future, especially given increasing population and potential bioenergy needs. Yet high nutrient use has created a web of pollution affecting the environment and human health, while insufficient access to nutrients has led to soil degradation, causing food insecurity and exacerbating loss of natural ecosystems. The report shows how these problems cross all global change challenges, threatening water, air and soil quality, climate balance, stratospheric ozone and biodiversity.

Read more...

 

Download the report

The (low resolution - 10 Mb) pdf version of Our Nutrient World is available online and can be downloaded here: Our Nutrient World

The (high resolution - 15 Mb) pdf version of the Executive Summary of Our Nutrient World can be downloaded here: Executive Summary

 

Purchase your own hard copy

If you want hard copies of Our Nutrient World, please obtain them at:

EarthPrint (Sales in US dollars)

WordPower Books (Sales in UK pounds).

 

For bulk orders (minimum 20 copies) contact cehcomms@ceh.ac.uk.

 

Enquiries

For any questions related to Our Nutrient World, contact INI via contact@initrogen.org or via one of its regional centers:

Europe - europe@initrogen.org

North America - n-america@initrogen.org

Latin America - l-america@initrogen.org

Africa - africa@initrogen.org

South Asia - s-asia@initrogen.org

East Asia - e-asia@initrogen.org

 

Press

The press briefing (in English) for the launch of Our Nutrient World can be downloaded here (briefing EN).

National press contacts are available (and translations into selected languages) for the following countries:

Country Contact Person Email Briefing Language
Austria Wilfried Winiwarter winiwart@iiasa.ac.at German
Brazil Jean Ometto jean.ometto@inpe.br  
France Bruna Grizzetti bruna.grizzetti@upmc.fr  
India N. Raghuram raghuram98@hotmail.com  
  Y.P. Abrol ypabrol@gmail.com  
  Tapan Adhya adhyas@yahoo.com  
Netherlands Albert Bleeker a.bleeker@ecn.nl Dutch
Spain Mark Theobald mrtheo@ceh.ac.uk  
UK Barnaby Smith bpgs@ceh.ac.uk English
USA Eric Davidson (INI) edavidson@whrc.org  
  Amit Roy (GPNM) ARoy@ifdc.org  
UNEP Anjan Datta Anjan.Datta@unep.org  
       
       

A press release in Italian will also be available on request from the INI European Centre, contact europe@initrogen.org.

If your country is not on the list, please contact either INI at contact@initrogen.org or the relevant INI regional centre (listed above).

 

Partnership

Our Nutrient World has been produced as a collaboration between the Global Partnership on Nutrient Management (GPNM) and the International Nitrogen Initiative (INI). The report was commissioned by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) with support from the Government of Norway, INI, the Centre for Ecology and Hydrology and other partners, as listed on page ii of the report.

Copies of the report may also be downloaded at the UNEP and GPNM sites, as well as at the sites of the International Geosphere Biosphere Programme (IGBP) and the Scientific Committee on Problems of the Environment (SCOPE), which are the two parent bodies of the International Nitrogen Initiative.